On Writing

4 05 2012

I went to a book signing with YA authors on Tuesday. Beth Revis, Stephanie Perkins, Kiersten White and Megan Miranda. Their books run the gamut from Science Fiction to Contemporary to Supernatural. And I picked up some really interesting information about writing for YA. I think though, the most important thing I heard was from Stephanie Perkins. She said to become a better writer, you must become a better reader.
What? What is a better reader? She explained that when we react to something in a book, we should stop and figure out what it was that made us react.

So with that information in mind, I read my current book with that in mind. I tore that book apart. I picked it apart and yet, loved the heck out of it. But I found out what I didn’t like and what I did like about that book. So, now, I am going to be a better reader. I’m still going to enjoy what I read, but, I’ll be a much better informed writer. I’ll be looking with a more critical eye so that I can use what I like in my own writing. Because somewhere inside me, I just know, there is a story waiting to be told. And I am going to tell it. And you will read it.

BTW, how have you guys found this poor neglected site and why would you follow it? I haven’t written a thing here. But glad to have you.

H.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

